Target and tractors

Wow! I haven’t been keeping my house spotless since the last post, but it’s amazing what changes I’ve noticed in my attitude since I’ve started doing a little bit at a time to help prevent that overwhelmed feeling. Just the simple act of picking up and doing chores throughout the day instead of all at once has decreased the workload and feeling of dread. This means I can focus on more important things: DIY projects and redecorating! Priorities, people!! ;)

Nothing too exciting going on around here lately. I did get a wild hair and decide to take the coffee table out of the living room. It’s just a temporary thing and I’m honestly not sure why I did it. I just love how big our living room feels without it in there. Basically, more room for activities! Duh.

I'm loving my new pillows (thanks Mom!) and my freshly painted mirror.

I’m loving my new pillows (thanks Mom!) and my freshly painted mirror.

Yesterday J and I ran some errands while Remi got his smarts on at MDO. We went out to check the deer feeders and drive around the pasture. I hadn’t really seen all of the land J grew up on and since we will be building a house out there one day I wanted to take it all in. Since I was a little girl I’ve always wanted a house on a hill with a wrap-around porch. I have no idea where I got that picture in my head, but it’s never left. Don’t get me wrong, I love living in town close to Target, TJ Maxx and our church; but there’s just something so refreshing and simplistic about life in the country. Maybe it reminds me of visiting my grandparent’s farm as a little girl. I was always so intrigued with the whole farm lifestyle—living off the land just as God intended. I want my children to grow up with animals. I want them to be able to run around outside and not be 5 feet from the road. I want them to eat home-grown tomatoes, learn to drive a tractor, and see the night stars from the country. It will be a lifestyle adjustment for me, but I want those things to be second nature to them. I’m trying to be positive about the future although it will be hard for me to leave “home”. I just keep telling myself a twenty minute drive is not that bad. We won’t be moving for 5-10 years, so no need to get all stressed out now. More time to plan my dream home!

The view from my future wrap-around-porch ;) beautiful, huh?!

The view from my future wrap-around-porch ;) beautiful, huh?!

Now, I’ll leave you with a picture of the cutest kid ever. I’m only a tiny bit biased.

Chef Remi

Be blessed y’all,

Kelsey

2 thoughts on “Target and tractors

Leave a Reply

