workout wednesday: glutes

I’ve always been a dancer. As a kid, I was much more concerned about pirouettes than P.E. Let me rephrase: I hated P.E. with a passion. Like faking having asthma so I wouldn’t have to run the dreaded “mile” outside. How redneck is it to make a bunch of elementary school kids run through an empty field to an old soccer goal and back and tell them it was a mile? Regardless of how far it really was, I always had a stitch in my side before I made it halfway there. You would think being one of the last kids to finish would prompt me to try a little harder, but it didn’t. I hated everything about P.E. except for the huge parachute we got to play with. That was pretty awesome. Thinking back now, I can credit dance for they fact that I was never overweight as a teenager. I wasn’t “in shape,” but I guess I did just enough to stay in the same size clothes. I never stopped to think that when I stopped dancing {got married & had a kid} that I’d gain weight and lose muscle tone.  I’ve been told one of my best features was my butt. For some reason it came as a shock that after having Remi I had no butt. WEIRD, right? I mean, I wasn’t working out or anything! I. Was. Clueless. So in honor of my former “good” butt, I’ve been working on my glutes. I must be doing something right because they are SORE today. This butt conversation is getting a little awkward so I’m just going to show you one of the exercises I’ve been doing.workout

Start out in this position with your hands and feet on the ground and the stability ball underneath you. You’ll need a smaller exercise ball than the one I’m using here, that way you’ll be able to raise your feet up a bit higher than the rest of your body.

workout2

Check out that awesome action shot! Like I said, smaller stability ball yields better results because it will be able to keep your knees bent, etc. Try not to fling your legs up, but rather, raise them up in a controlled motion. If you don’t feel it in your glutes, you’re not doing it right! However, I’m not a professional, so feel free to disregard my workout/fitness advice!

When Remington got home from Mother’s Day Out yesterday he immediately noticed the stability ball in the living room and was a little freaked. He kept saying “Ball, Momma!” but would not get close to it. I’m telling on myself with that one because I obviously haven’t been using it enough.

On a different note, I can’t wait for dinner tonight! All of Gina’s skinny recipes that I’ve tried have been wonderful, but I have to say the Crockpot Chicken Enchilada Soup is one of my absolute favorites! The smell is killing me! I just want to eat a bowl now, but I will have self control and wait until my husband gets home. Maybe. crockpot

Don’t you love my old school hand-crank can opener? I refuse to buy one of the electric can openers because I cannot figure them out for the life of me! My mom has had and electric one for like…forever and every time she asked me to open a can I had to bust out the manual one. I’ve tried all kinds! I don’t know why I can never use the electric ones!

What are you having for dinner?

Until next time,

Kelsey

4 thoughts on “workout wednesday: glutes

  1. It’s so funny I happened to read this today… earlier I was trying open a pop-top can of jalapenos, and the pop thingy just broke off and this can wouldn’t work right with my electric can opener, so I was stuck with a can that I couldn’t open at all because I didn’t have an old school can opener!!! Also… that soup looks amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

