Valentine’s Day + baked oatmeal

IMG_2319

Valentine’s Day. A day dedicated to flowers and chocolate and $5 greeting cards. I’m not sure what it is, but my whole attitude toward this holiday has been different this year. I remember totally looking forward to Valentine’s day when Jarrett and I were dating—even the first year of being married—expecting him to prove his love for me. Why should I expect him to love me more on one day out of the year than all the rest? What is all of the hype about? This year, I’m a little more  grounded in myself, my walk with Christ, and my relationship with my husband. I’ve learned to cherish the times we spend together—to enjoy when he’s home and not working out of town. I can’t place all of my joy in one holiday. It’s like a weight has been lifted. Neither one of us really stressed about getting the other person gifts this year. We didn’t feel like we had to compete with all of the extravagant surprises people posted pictures of on Facebook. Sure, those things are great, but unnecessary for me. I’d rather have a surprise on an ordinary day than on a specified holiday. But then again, I’m not your typical “send me flowers” kind of girl. Sure, they’re beautiful, but flowers die. I know I’m coming across as cynical and I’m not meaning to. The only way I can describe it is: no pressure. Jarrett always insists that I not spend money on him. This is the first year I didn’t feel guilty. I wrote him a sweet note. I felt good about it. He took care of Remington today so I could go to Target and buy some new workout clothes and an arm band for my iPhone AND he cooked dinner. That was a blessing to me. Maybe we’re just comfortable. Maybe we’re getting old! ;) Whatever it is, I like it. Oh, and that crazy little Valentine mantle up there? It’s a hodge-podge mess of things I already had and I love it!

Now on to the good stuff: baked oatmeal. I used to hate breakfast AND waking up, but now I can look forward to it when I know I have some of this waiting on me with my coffee. Can’t forget the coffee.

Baked Oatmeal

adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie’s original Banana Bread Baked Oatmeal

makes 4-6 servings

  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 very ripe mashed bananas
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 4 Tablespoons coconut oil (melted)
  • 1/4 teaspoon Vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • a few shakes of cinnamon
  • optional: berries, sliced almonds, whatever add-ins you desire

Preheat oven to 350. Mix ingredients and pour into a sprayed 8×8 baking dish or individual ramekins. Bake 12-15 minutes if using ramekins, or increase baking time to 15-18 minutes if using 8×8 dish.

baked oatmeal

I opted for blueberries and strawberries with additional bananas on top. YUM!

This is one of my favorite things to eat for breakfast. Remington loves it! I love how easy it is and that there are so many different options. You never have to eat it the same way once. It also freezes well. Just line the dish with foil and when you’re done baking, let it cool and wrap it up. Couldn’t be simpler and tastes SO good.

Enjoy some time with your love!

Kelsey

3 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day + baked oatmeal

  1. You are right on! Wonderfully stated and such a true testimony of what a Godly relationship should be … sharing love with one another everyday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

