heart like You

I recently had the privilege of attending a Francesca Battistelli concert {part of the Hundred More Years tour} in my hometown. For free. If you’ve ever listened to a Christian radio station you’ve heard her songs. She’s amazing! I was so excited about the concert & my “date.” Since Jarrett was out of town I went with my step dad.

Side note: If you know me you know how much I love music. It’s so weird how my brain works…you can say something to me and I pretty much always think of a song to correspond with it. I’ve been that way for as long as I can remember. I drive Jarrett crazy with my weird music memory recall (although I can’t remember where I’m driving half of the time) when he’s getting ready to go out of town. He almost always says “I feel like I’m forgetting something.” I almost always respond with Lee Ann Womack’s lyrics. I promise you there is no significance to those lyrics for us; I just know the song and it pops into my head when I hear the words. I can’t help myself! One benefit to this strangeness is the fact that I’ve been listening to a lot more Christian music instead of country. Now, when I’m struggling, praising, and even in the mundane, everyday tasks I’m usually able to think of a song that deals with whatever is going on. It’s such a hopeful and uplifting thing for me. It often gives me the words to say what I feel in my heart. I love that particular quirk of mine!

Ok, back to the concert. We were all packed into the sanctuary of First Baptist Church in downtown Longview, Texas. I had never been to a “real” Christian concert aside from hearing bands at Youth camp and I was so pumped! Did I mention I love music? Anyways, there were some pretty awesome bands set to perform that night—some whose music I knew by heart and others I’d never heard of. Kyle Sherman, The Afters, Love and the Outcome, and Francesca Battistelli. Amazing artists, amazing music, amazing stewards of the talents God has given them. My heart was so filled with joy by the lyrics. I felt God’s presence in that place. I was totally impressed by one particular band, though. Love and the Outcome. I am SO glad I bought their EP at the concert. I believe you can only get it while they’re on tour, but their album should be coming out in August from what I understand. They are a husband and wife duo from Canada and their music will not disappoint! {Another thing I love is Jodie’s awesome sense of fashion!} I can’t get the songs out of my head and I don’t want to! I have the EP in my car and I literally keep listening to those three songs over and over and over. The lyrics just speak to me and make me want to live out God’s love. You can hear their song “City of God” here, but I’ll give you a sample of the lyrics from the other two songs because they’re just so dang good!

“Heart Like You”
I’d give up the world to find my soul
I’d pour out my life, give You control
I just want to be what You want me to be
I just want a heart that’s true
A heart like You

“King of my Heart”
‘Cause You are
Bigger than any battle I’m facing
You are
Better than anything I’ve been chasing
Savior and royalty
The only hope for me
Jesus, You are, You are
The King of my heart, heart

Aren’t those words just so sweet? Those are my prayers lately. I want a heart like Him. I want Him to be King of my heart, not the other things I get so caught up in. Although I have a great husband and an awesome little boy, neither one would make a very good god. Who is like my God? I need to remember to put him above ALL things. I was just so impressed with this band and their music and wanted to share. I would have felt selfish if I didn’t tell y’all about something that makes me feel so joyful! I’ve also got some exciting (for me) news that I want to share here pretty soon, but not today, so stay tuned! And no, Remi is not going to be a big brother!

Until next time,

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

